Free time

Free time

Whenever you start convincing yourself that you don’t have time to meditate, to go for a walk, to exercise, or do other self-care activities, 

Just take a quick peek at your total screen time for the last 7 days on your device. 

Chances are, you’re averaging over 15 hours of scrolling on social media a week.

This is not to shame anyone for scrolling. I’ve averaged higher in some weeks.

It’s just a reminder that the “I don’t have time” excuse is not as true as we’d like to convince ourselves of.

And when you spend more time meditating, walking, and exercising, you eventually start craving more productive ways to use your “free” time.

Light
.

.
One of the mini-challenges on The Year of Transformation is going off of social media for 7 days. I’ve done it before, and I’ve noticed how in the first few days, I kept checking random apps on my phone, like the weather app. And it made me realize how the addiction can go beyond social media, and you start opening your phone just to open your phone. And while I don’t think I’ve successfully broken that addiction (yet), I find it helpful to cycle off of social media from time to time just to keep it in check. Apply Now.

.
Light Watkins is a keynote speaker, host of The Light Show podcast, and best-selling author of Travel Light, Knowing Where to Look, Bliss More, and The Inner Gym. More at lightwatkins.com or on Instagram.

.

PS. if you use the link below to refer 3 friends to my daily doses, you’ll receive a free membership to my Happiness Insiders online community, which includes live weekly meditations with me. They must subscribe with your link in order for you to get the referral credit. And if you refer 10 or more friends, you’ll receive access to all of my masterclasses and challenges.