The betrayal

The betrayal

In order to do what you came into this life to do, you must make a habit of betraying your fears.

Because you can’t be loyal to both your fears and your heart at the same time. 

You’re either abandoning one, or the other. 

And your fears are doing everything they can to convince you to abandon your “crazy,” “potentially-embarrassing,” “unnecessarily-expensive,” “risky,” “waste-of-time,” heart-led mission.

Light
.


Jacarandas in Mexico City.

p.
But what if it’s too scary to follow my heart? What if there are too many unknowns? What if too many people depend on me? What if I’m too old? What if I haven’t saved enough money? What if there’s not enough time in the day? What if my health is failing? What if I’m rebuilding from the last time I bet the farm on following my heart? In other words, what if it doesn’t work out?! 

Here’s the thing: if you knew for a fact that it was going to “work out,” all of those what-ifs go away. But because life is full of uncertainties, the fears remain the loudest voice in your head. So again, the question is, do you want to be loyal to all of your fears? Or do you want loyal to your heart? Because you can’t be loyal to both.

My passions include keynote speaking, leading meditation retreats, hosting my podcast, and writing self-help books, like Travel Light,Knowing Where to Look,Bliss More, and The Inner Gym. I’ve also got a thriving online community with fun challenges and masterclasses for becoming the best version of you. You can see more about me at lightwatkins.comor follow my journey on Instagram.